Vic teams picked for 2023 national wheelchair champs

The Victorian team after winning the 2022 Toyota Wheelchair AFL National Championships
The Victorian teams have been selected for the 2023 Toyota Wheelchair AFL National Championships, to be played in Melbourne in early November.

The annual carnival will take place at the State Netball and Hockey Centre, starting on Thursday, November 2 and concluding with the Grand Final to be played on Sunday, November 5. The host state will be represented by teams from Vic Metro and Vic Country.

Every state and territory will compete at this year’s event, along with teams from the Australian Defence Force (ADF) and Returned Services League of Australia (RSL).

For the Vics, Caleb Logan, who represents Essendon in the Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League (VWFL), has been selected for his sixth national championships, the most of any Victorian. Richmond’s Judeland Antony is next most with five selections.

Across the 20 players picked for Vic Metro and Vic Country, six will be competing in their first Toyota Wheelchair AFL National Championships.
Of the five VWFL clubs, Richmond has the most players wearing the ‘Big V’ in 2023 with eight.

The championships, co-delivered by the AFL and Disability Sports Australia, with support from AFL Victoria, provides Australia's most talented wheelchair footballers with the opportunity to represent their state/territory against the best in the country.

Congratulations to the following 20 players on their selection.

Squad lists below (note, Victorian Wheelchair Football League club in brackets and number of times selected for Victoria in Wheelchair AFL National Championships)

Judeland Antony (Richmond) - 5th
Joanna Argaet (Hawthorn) - 2nd
Nick Bryant (St Kilda) - 2nd
Will Crooks (Collingwood) - 2nd
Yassin Hill (Hawthorn) - 2nd
Vincent Naidu (Richmond) - 2nd
Anthony Perito (Collingwood) - 2nd
Ryan Smith (St Kilda) - 3rd
James Weinert (Richmond) - 1st
Sebastian Welsh (St Kilda) - 1st

Mitchell Bond (Hawthorn) - 1st
Finn Broadbent (Hawthorn) - 2nd
Adam Georgelin (Essendon) - 2nd
Chris Henderson (Richmond) - 2nd
Ben Jankovski (Collingwood) - 2nd
Chris Kotsanas (Richmond) - 1st
Caleb Logan (Essendon) - 6th
Ben Noble (Richmond) - 1st
Teisha Shadwell (Richmond) - 1st
Mitchell Stretton (Richmond) - 2nd

Victoria won its first Wheelchair AFL national title in 2022. Read the recap here