Australia Day Honours
Media Release

Australia Day honours: Victorian community football leaders recognised

Some of the Victorian community football leaders recognised with 2024 Australia Day honours: Paul Briggs, Lisa Hasker, Peter Hille, Diana Taylor, Michael Tehan
The AFL congratulates the community leaders and outstanding contributors to Australian rules football who have been recognised in the Australia Day Honours for 2024. 

The following members of the Victorian football community have been recognised for their contribution to the game:


Paul Briggs – Service to the Indigenous community and sporting organisations, including as President of the Rumbalara Football Netball Club, Chair of the AFL National Indigenous Advisory Council, Board member of the Murray Football League and past chair of the Victorian Aboriginal Football Foundation. Jack Titus award winner.

Bruce Carter – Service to business, charity and the community, including 20+ years as an Adelaide Football League field umpire.


Peter Duras – Service to Sports Physiotherapy and the community, including previous roles with the Essendon and Footscray Football Clubs.

Steve Harris – Service to Print Journalism, with his career including a previous role as CEO at Melbourne FC.

Diana Taylor – Service to Australian Rules Football and the Geelong community, including senior board roles with Geelong Cats FC, the AFLW Competition, the VFL Tribunal and Appeal Boards and the Western Region Football League.


John Bligh – Service to Australian Rules Football, including 50 years with the North Shore FC and the Geelong Football League.

Michael Cooper – Service to Community Sport, including roles with the Darley FC and Sebastopol Football Netball Club.

Lisa Hasker – Service to Sports Administration, including as Deputy Chair of the AFL Sports Ready Foundation.

Peter Hille – Service to the Community, including as a Past President and other leadership roles as a life member of the Fitzroy Reds FC.

The late Geoff Jones – Service to the Mildura Community, including the Sunraysia FL Umpires Association and Sunraysia FL administration.

Joanne Kwok – Service to the Bayside Community, including the Sandringham FC.

Bill McMaster – Service to Australian Rules Football, as a past premiership player, senior coach, board member, life member of the Geelong Cats FC and past roles in the Hampden League and Mininera League.

Michael Tehan – Service to the Goulburn Valley Community, including senior roles with Goulburn Valley League.

Read the full media release from the AFL here