AFL Victoria announces Lindsay Tanner as new chair

New AFL Victoria chair Lindsay Tanner

The Australian Football League is pleased to announce the appointment of Lindsay Tanner to the role of AFL Victoria chairperson.

The appointment comes following the passing of former AFL Victoria chair Ray Horsburgh AM in August.

Born in the regional Victorian town of Orbost, Tanner is highly accomplished in business and government and has a strong connection to Australian football at both elite and grassroots levels, including having been president of the Essendon Football Club from 2015-2020. In 2020 he was named chair of the governance committee set up to administer funds raised through the AFL’s Community Relief Fund for bushfire-affected communities and families.

During his distinguished career that has extended more than four decades, Tanner was Federal Finance Minister from 2007-2010 and in recent times has held numerous corporate directorships, including his current board position with Suncorp.

Tanner said he was honoured to be taking on an important leadership role as community football continues to bounce back in Victoria after a period of significant disruption caused by the COVID pandemic.

“Community football is the heartbeat of so many towns and communities in Victoria and AFL Victoria has a vitally important role to play in supporting the grassroots game across the state.

“The game has been challenged like never before in recent years so to see community football in Victoria rebound strongly in 2022, with participation getting back to around pre-COVID 2019 levels, is incredibly encouraging.

“But we know there are areas of the game needing greater support and AFL Victoria is committed to ensuring community football thrives.”

The AFL recently announced a major increase in community football investment for 2023 and beyond, with 10 per cent of the game’s assessable revenue enshrined in funding the grassroots game, which will result in an immediate injection of $17m increased investment in game development nationally in 2023 - a massive 35 per cent increase on this year.

Through this investment the AFL can take its support for community football to a new level and address challenges and opportunities associated with engaging new participants, creating inclusive environments, making it easier to participate and volunteer and developing a new oval per week, every week for five years to cater for the game’s growth.

AFL Victoria Board

Lindsay Tanner – Chair

Heidi Sutherland - Director

Jennie Loughnan - Director

Grant O’Riley - Director

Rob Auld - Director

Rosana Butler – Director

Kate Darroch - Company Secretary

Ben Kavenagh - Head of AFL Victoria